Trump to visit, flight restrictions in place - Fox29 WFLX TV, West Palm Beach, FL-news & weather

Trump to visit, flight restrictions in place

  • Fox 29 Daily HeadlinesMore>>

  • 'It breaks my heart': Laura Bush calls family separation at border 'cruel,' 'immoral'

    'It breaks my heart': Laura Bush calls family separation at border 'cruel,' 'immoral'

    Monday, June 18 2018 1:43 AM EDT2018-06-18 05:43:51 GMT
    Monday, June 18 2018 1:43 AM EDT2018-06-18 05:43:51 GMT
    Former first lady Laura Bush speaks Friday, June 23, 2017, during "Stand-To," a summit held by the George W. Bush Institute focused on veteran transition, in Washington. (AP Photo/Jacquelyn Martin)Former first lady Laura Bush speaks Friday, June 23, 2017, during "Stand-To," a summit held by the George W. Bush Institute focused on veteran transition, in Washington. (AP Photo/Jacquelyn Martin)

    The former first lady called on “good people at all levels of government” to stop the practice.

    More >>

    The former first lady called on “good people at all levels of government” to stop the practice.

    More >>
  • Ex-chief, officers allegedly framed teen for burglaries in FL

    Ex-chief, officers allegedly framed teen for burglaries in FL

    Thursday, June 14 2018 1:46 PM EDT2018-06-14 17:46:03 GMT
    Thursday, June 14 2018 1:46 PM EDT2018-06-14 17:46:03 GMT
    Ex-law enforcement officials allegedly arrested a teen for a crime he didn't commit in order to keep a perfect record for burglary cases. (Source: Raycom Media, file)Ex-law enforcement officials allegedly arrested a teen for a crime he didn't commit in order to keep a perfect record for burglary cases. (Source: Raycom Media, file)

    Biscayne Park Police Chief Raimundo Atesiano, as well as officers Charlie Dayoub and Raul Fernandez, were indicted by federal officials for "conspiracy to violate civil rights under color of law."

    More >>

    Biscayne Park Police Chief Raimundo Atesiano, as well as officers Charlie Dayoub and Raul Fernandez, were indicted by federal officials for "conspiracy to violate civil rights under color of law."

    More >>
  • North American trio beats Morocco to host 2026 World Cup

    North American trio beats Morocco to host 2026 World Cup

    Wednesday, June 13 2018 2:37 AM EDT2018-06-13 06:37:15 GMT
    Thursday, June 14 2018 11:42 AM EDT2018-06-14 15:42:47 GMT
    (AP Photo/Pavel Golovkin). FIFA President Gianni Infantino arrives at the FIFA congress on the eve of the opener of the 2018 soccer World Cup in Moscow, Russia, Wednesday, June 13, 2018. The congress in Moscow is set to choose the host or hosts for the...(AP Photo/Pavel Golovkin). FIFA President Gianni Infantino arrives at the FIFA congress on the eve of the opener of the 2018 soccer World Cup in Moscow, Russia, Wednesday, June 13, 2018. The congress in Moscow is set to choose the host or hosts for the...

    FIFA is preparing to choose between Morocco and a joint North American bid to host the 2026 World Cup.

    More >>

    FIFA is preparing to choose between Morocco and a joint North American bid to host the 2026 World Cup.

    More >>

Story Video: Click here

President-elect Donald Trump is expected to arrive at Mar-a-Lago for the holidays.

 

The U.S Coast Guard has restricted access to the waterways around Trump’s Palm Beach home until Jan. 3, indicating his stay could last more than two weeks.

Flight restrictions go into effect Friday night.

Palm Beach County Sheriff Ric Bradshaw says he, along with state and federal law enforcement, will be working to keep Trump safe while still minimizing the burden to the public.

 

Drivers can expect some occasional road closures as his motorcade moves around, especially along Southern Boulevard, the route from the airport to Mar-a-Lago.

 

“We don’t want to cause a lot of inconvenience to the public, the dignitaries don’t want to do that either. But, there are certain security constraints that we have to deal with,” Bradshaw said.

 

Bradshaw says any of his family who visits him or elected officials and dignitaries will also get protection.

 

Trump will also have a full security detail anytime he leaves his Palm Beach home.

 

“I don’t think you’re going to see him traveling all over the place and the reason is, he understands what it takes to move him from place to place,” Bradshaw said.

 

Residents along the Intracoastal are getting used to their new ‘normal’. They know restrictions will go into place when the president-elect visits, and they could face some road detours.

 

For Susan, who did not want to be identified by her last name, it is not a new situation.

 

She’s used to the inconveniences of living near dignitaries.

 

“I lived in New York city and other dignitaries, like Fidel Castro, used to come. We used to have a lot of blockage off with the streets,” Susan said.

 

Trump’s escort from PBI to Mar-a-Lago during Trump’s Thanksgiving visit took 11 minutes, according to Bradshaw. He expects this next escort should take about the same amount of time.

 

Trump’s Thanksgiving visit cost the sheriff’s office nearly $250,000 in overtime.

 

FLIGHT RESTRICTIONS:

 

West Palm Beach

From December 16, 2016 at 2200 UTC (December 16, 2016 at 1700 EST)  5PM
To December 16, 2016 at 2315 UTC (December 16, 2016 at 1815 EST) 6:15pm


West Palm Beach

 

From December 17, 2016 at 0230 UTC (December 16, 2016 at 2130 EST) 9:30pm
To December 17, 2016 at 1900 UTC (December 17, 2016 at 1400 EST)  2pm


West Palm Beach

 

From December 17, 2016 at 2330 UTC (December 17, 2016 at 1830 EST)  6:30pm
To January 03, 2017 at 0459 UTC (January 02, 2017 at 2359 EST) 11:59am

 

 

 

 

Scripps Only Content 2016

Powered by Frankly

1100 Banyan Blvd.
West Palm Beach, FL 33401

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 Raycom Media. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.