Boynton Beach Police Department honors dedicated officers, dispatchers

Boynton Beach Police Department honors dedicated officers, dispatchers
(Source: Boynton Beach Police Department)

BOYNTON BEACH, Fla. — The Boynton Beach Police Department will honor members of its department during an awards ceremony Tuesday afternoon.

Officers, detectives, dispatchers, and other staff members will be recognized for the work they’ve done during the first quarter of the year.

On Feb. 27, Officer Greg Wertman was hit by a car while chasing a shoplifting suspect near Gateway Blvd. and Congress Ave.

Boynton Beach police said Officer Rachel Baldino was instrumental in the arrest of the suspect, 24-year-old Ryan Moody.

Police said Officer Baldino’s use of intel helped track down Moody by talking to witnesses who told the officer that Moody had changed his clothes.

A second suspect, 23-year-old Elyshia Wilson, turned herself in after police posted her picture on social media.

Because of her actions, Officer Baldino will be awarded the Police Duty Medal on Tuesday afternoon.

The dispatchers working on Feb. 27 will also being recognized Tuesday with the Meritorious Unit Award.

Police said Janel McNevin, Terri Bennett, Steven Ferrell, Gabby Trotto, and Brittany Drury helped keep the situation under control and contacted different units to respond to the scene.

The department released this statement about the response on Feb. 27:

Some wonderful news this morning....Officer Greg Wertman is home from the hospital!!! He has recovered enough from his...

Posted by Boynton Beach Police Department on Thursday, March 14, 2019

Other awards that will be given out Tuesday include:

  • Citizen Commendation: Kassidy Sottilare
  • Professional Staff Member Appreciation: Brittany Drury
  • Meritorious Unit: Dawn Jackson, Randy Northrop and Officer Vinny Mastro
  • Meritorious Unit: Andy Richardson, Jessica Hackl, Mary Jean Hockicko, James Longhini, Joy Richards, Ricky Suyono, Jaimie Viverito, Cranesha Watson, Brian McNevin
  • Meritorious Unit and Police Duty: Detectives Jeff Gleicher, Juan Montoya, Marco Villari, Evelyn Gorfido
  • Lifesaving: Sgt. Chris Munro, Officer Vladimir Alexis, Officer Holly Picciano, Officer Mark Sohn, Officer Vladimir Adea, Officer Rachel Moccia, Officer Carlos Borrero
  • Exceptional Police Duty: Crime Scene Investigators Rob Eichorst, Tom McKinlay, Tina Stidham
  • Exceptional Police Duty: Agent Craig Hanning
  • Exceptional Police Duty: Officer Denise Schrecengost

Copyright 2019 Scripps Media, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.